Work…

is a bit of a joke right now.

I’m doing my best to stay positive and I’m trying to be strategic about things.  So far I’ve only dealt one day, last Sunday.  I was scheduled on Tuesday and again yesterday, but they were so slow that I opted to leave when I got there.  My "strategy" is that by leaving two days when they didn’t need the staff and were begging people to go home, hopefully today and tomorrow (I’m working 12-8 both days) they’ll be less likely to force me to go home and Friday/Saturday are better tip days.  I *hope*.

They revamped the schedules too.  I’m nervous about this.  I was supposed to have next Tuesday off, which is the day that Reagan has her surgery, so I need it off.  Now it’s very possible that I’ll have to work.  I heard that they cut down quite a bit on the number of days too.  I was scheduled for five days, someone else that was also scheduled for five now has only two.  Hopefully it’ll balance itself out with fewer dealers scheduled so that we have the opportunity for more tips.  It’s a bit nerve wracking not knowing how much money you’re going to make.  Especially considering everything going on right now.

Hopefully if I’m scheduled for Tuesday, I’ll be able to find someone to switch days with me.  I HAVE to be there for Reag, there’s no other option. 

It’s always something, right?

Log in to write a note
September 5, 2008

I’m sure if you have to work Tuesday somebody would understand your situation and switch days with you. Maybe start discussing it with a few people now just to be safe? I hope this job works out for you. love you

I’m assuming you are a waitress. I remember those days.