A long rant about school…

Here we are going into our third week of school and already dealing with issues.  It started last week, I pack my daughter (she’s 7yrs old, 2nd grade) one snack a day that she eats mid/late morning before lunch.  So, every so often I like to pack her something "special", one particular day it was a rice krispy treat.  She came home that day quite upset saying that Mrs.**** said she couldn’t have that anymore because it wasn’t a "healthy choice".  I’ll admit, at that point I was a bit embarassed, thinking oops, maybe that isn’t a smart choice for a mid morning snack.  So, I made it a point to send in "healthier" snacks to avoid my daughter being spoken to again.  Yesterday when she got off the bus I asked her how her day went and was answered with sobs.  She was absolutely hysterical saying that I need to pack her healthy snacks that she was spoken to because she didn’t have a healthy snack and I lied when I told her that she had a healthy snack and it wasn’t fair that **** was allowed to eat CheeseIts everyday but she couldn’t bring in that snack everyday, on and on and on.  Sobbing.  I had packed her a 100 calorie pack of the snack size Pringles.  Is that really that bad of a snack?  I don’t think so, and shouldn’t it ultimately be up to me what I pack my daughter for snack and not her teacher’s decision what she eats.  Am I wrong?

So I console her and explain to her that the pringles were a healthy snack when compared to regular chips, but there are healthier things like fruit, veggies etc.  I don’t want to say too much to her before talking with the teacher and seeing if perhaps there are guidelines that I’m not aware of. 

So we get inside and at my mother’s urging I call the school to speak with her teacher to get the entire story. 

Me: Hi Mrs. ****, this is Marissa *********, *****s mom.

Teach: Hi, how are you?
Me: Fine thank you, you?

Teach: Fine.

Me: I just wanted to call and speak with you about an incident that happened today and I wanted to see if there was more to the situation that **** was leaving out.  I was greeted today by **** crying when she got off the bus because of an incident with snack time where she was told that she needed to make healthy eating choices and what she had wasn’t healthy.

Teach: Oh, ok.

That’s all she said.  "oh, ok" and I waited, after 15 second of silence I finally spoke up again

Me: Are there guidelines set forth for snacks that I’m not aware of?

Teach: No, I am just trying to implement the federal guidelines for healthy eating choices, the school doesn’t have anything specific set forth.  I initially thought that what she had wasn’t healthy, but after looking closer at it I realized that it was ok so told her that it was fine, and she could eat it.  Some parents send in other things and let their children have options, choices, for snack time.  But since ***** buys lunch everyday, she didn’t have any other options.

Ok, first of all, I don’t care if I sent in a damn candybar, is it really her place to say what MY daughter can eat?  Secondly, if the teacher has a problem with it, shouldn’t she be contacting the parents and not making a scene in front of other students w/ my daughter?  Also, what is the issue with her buying lunch everyday? She WANTS to buy lunch everyday.  I know that she’s getting a well balanced meal, and quite frankly it saves me time in the mornings not having to pack her a lunch.

Me:Well I am aware that I sent in a rice crispy treat last week, and looking back I realize that that probably wasn’t appropriate for the time of the day, but it was something special that my daughter enjoyed.  The pringles, well my husband and I do grocery shopping together and were being mindful when choosing snacks for *****.  That’s why we bought the pringles.  The are in single servings so that the serving isn’t too large, and they are the 100 calorie ones, therefore in our eyes that was a healthy choice.

Teach: Well they were ok, but I try to stress to the children that we need to make healthy choices and there are other things out there that would give them more energy and help them through the day. Things like yogurt, cheese, and fruit.  You have to understand that there are many cases now a days of childhood Diabetes and childhood obesity. [she stressed this to me – obesity].  So I just try to encourage the children to make healthy choices.

Now I’m starting to get mad because I realize all of a sudden by her stressing ‘obesity’ that she’s putting things in *****’s head.  On more than one occassion since school has started my daughter has talked about her body negatively.  At first I thought it was just the age or something, but now I’m starting to think that it has to do with her teacher.  On one instance, she told me that she wanted to ‘get rid of my belly’ and I was shocked to hear her talk like that.  She isn’t big by any means, she is in the 90 percentile for both height and weight, therefore she is proportioned appropriately.  Could she stand to lose a few pounds, probably, but it’s certainly not at a point where she is UNHEALTHY.  So basically at this point I feel like the teacher is just not hearing me and I really don’t want to get off bad w/ her because my daughter does have to spend 7hrs a day with this woman.

Me: Well I think that what’s going on is ***** is very confused because my husband and myself talked to her about the snacks we purchased for her, letting her know that they were healthier choices.  She doesn’t understand why there are other children that are eating Cheese Its and such and not being spoken to, but she’s being spoken to for something that my husband and I bought for the sole purpose of being "healthier".

teach: I will talk to ***** tomorrow and let her know that what she had was fine and see if maybe another child had made a comment to her to upset her.  I mean, snack time was at 10:30 and she’s upset about this at 3:30.  Maybe another student said something to upset her.  Again, I’m just trying to implement healthy eating choices.  There are many children that are in daycare at 6 am and need something that is energizing at that point in the day, things like fruit and yogurt or cheese.  I do appreciate you calling and sharing your concern with me.  I intend on addressing this issue at the open house tomorrow night.  I do appreciate your honesty and your cander though, thank you for calling.

Me: Thank you.

Ok, so tonight was the open house.  Do you want to know what the suggestions she gave parents for snack time are??  Here is exactly what she sent us :

Snacks
Purpose:

Snacks provide a time to take a break.  Children receive some additional energy and nutrition  Help establish healthy snacking habits.

Snacks which contain a high concentration of sugar or fat (i.e. cookies, roll-ups, granola bars etc) should be saved for lunch, as so

me children react adversely to too much sugar and there is no opportunity to brush teeth.

Healthy snack suggestions: dried or fresh fruits or vegetables, nuts, sandwhiches, crackers and peanut butter or cheese, pretzels, popcorn, dry cereal, leftover pizza or chicken, yogurt, pudding, soup, banana or pumpkin breads, juice boxes.

I’m sorry, I don’t see how sending leftover pizza in for SNACK is better than a granola bar or low fat pringles?  The calcium in the cheese?  What about calories?  I am certain that a granola bar holds more nutritional value than a slice of pizza (of course that’s if I get a granola bar high in fiber, low in sugar etc). 

Then one of the parents asked about birthday celebrations.  The teacher replied that the office would be sending something home soon regarding the issue.  The parent said that her son’s birthday was this week, that’s why she asked so that she could send something in.  This is a good one….

Teach: we are strongly urging parents to think of other ways to celebrate than food.  I know it’s hard because most of us are used to celebrating with food, but rewarding children with something so high in sugar isn’t really a reward.  I suggest, popsicles or yogurts, or even an art project or friendship bracelets.

Are you serious?!  Unless the school sends me something saying that I can’t send in cupcakes, I’m sending in cupcakes for my daughter’s birthday.  We don’t eat cupcakes everyday, they are a TREAT; something as part of a celebration that we do once a year.  C’mon.  The teacher could tell that that particular parent, and most others in the room didn’t agree with her and she quickly changed the subject.

*sigh*  Should I really have to be dealing with this already?!  Tomorrow I am going to be talking with my neighbor, who happens to be the Director of Curriculum at the school, so he’s on the Board of Ed,  and I’ll ask him for the Wellness Program guidelines.  From my understanding, every school has them and THAT is what needs to be followed, not some ridiculous teacher’s personal beliefs.

So any suggestions or opinions or advice as to how you would handle the situation?  I’m seriously considering setting an appointment with the principal to discuss my concerns, but I am afraid on the same hand that my concerns are miniscule.  To me they are huge, but is that what the principal will see?

Log in to write a note
September 20, 2006

No, those are not miniscule concerns. What that teacher said upset your daughter, and while it is her responsibility to make sure they are not hurt and that they are making progress, it is not her responsibility to tell your child what healthy choices are and are not. The principal should know about this. If your little girl came home crying, I bet it’s not the first time she’s done it…

September 20, 2006

And, if you feel it is negatively effecting your daughter’s view of herself, it is the principal’s job to deal with it. Unless the school is going to apply those standards to every other class, or that teacher is going to send home an official note that applies only to hers, it’s not up to her. I know this is random, but when I was your daughter’s age, I had a really awful teacher who…

September 20, 2006

did things like that to me, and to others in my class. It caused me, personally, to have some very serious problems with my self-esteem. And, your daughter is a normal healthy girl. She should not be made to feel otherwise because of her teacher. So, do make an appointment. Then, if other things come up, the principal will at least have a record of a pattern.

September 20, 2006

what the heck? since when was it any of the teacher’s business or job to say what a kid’s parents gives them for a snack? sure, they can give suggestions to the parents, but just SUGGESTIONS, and they shouldn’t be making their students feel bad about themselves. in the meantime, the teacher’s guidelines (and the federal government’s, for that matter) hardly make any sense! argh.

September 20, 2006

You already know my feelings on this, the teacher is in the wrong. And when a 7yr old becomes concerned with her weight than I’d say the principal should be made aware of what is going on. Also it’s not like she’s doing it to all the children – she’s made “Beautiful” feel completely singled out & that is in no way right. She should be enjoying school not dreading it because of some teachers views

September 21, 2006

We have the same concerns when it comes to “snacks” at school. While I realize that there is a HUGE push, especially in the public schools of today, to “eat healthy” (because there’s an overabundance of overweight/obese adults in the United States), I do not feel that the children should be prevented from eating what the parents give them. The teacher should NOT be ridiculing the student’s foodin any way… he/she should be writing a note to the parents if there’s “a problem.” I would speak to the principal about your concerns. I would also stress that you are working adults who are doing the best that they can for their children. You are, in no way, shirking your responsibility and just letting your children eat “junk.” My own story: Every morning, I pack up my kids’ snack bags. I put in their water bottles (with water in them, not soda or juice). I put in 2 “100 calorie” snack-packs each, usually Cheese-Its or Wheat Thins. I put in 1 “fruit snack” bag each. I would rather my child NOT be hungry during the day. You know what? Usually, the fruit snack doesn’t get eaten. They love the snack-packs. Enough said? LOL Sorry… I rambled on and on.

September 21, 2006

No. Your concerns are wellfounded. That teacher is WAY out of line. ie, “Fake” granola bars would be one thing, but to rule out ALL is bizarre. PIZZA??? For a SNACK??? What kind of crap is that?!?! ryn: Thanks. I don’t like confrontations, so I avoid most situations, including asking for more money, even when I know I deserve it. One of my weird personality things…

September 22, 2006

wow… I can’t believe a school would be so strict about snacks! For allergy-related reasons I can understand but banning Rice Krispie squares and Pringles are just RIDICULOUS! That is just not right.

September 24, 2006

wow… it amazes me how much and how little things have changed in the 16 years since i was in 2nd grade. my teacher, though much more blatant, had the same judgmental attititude and singled kids out all the time, especially in the area of food. once she even took a kid’s own birthday cupcake away b/c “he clearly didnt need it.” sounds like this woman is smart enough not to be that open, but the damage seems just as real. a 7 yr old should never have to worry about her “belly” i agree 1000000000000000% with you on this one, you are her mother and you can pack her whatever you want for snack. rice krispy treats arent THAT bad… the woman makes it out like youre sending the kid in with a sack of sugar and 10-gallon soda. and i cannot see where anyone could rationalize that a slice of pizza is a more acceptable snack than a handful of pringles. prehaps someone should point out to this woman that kids need variety in their diets and if you always deny them sweets in all forms you arent teaching them anything about moderation or self-control. ryn: marco hadnt occurred to me, i thought maybe his parents had it, but marco did pack most of the stuff from the beach hou

September 24, 2006

house, so maybe he took it? its certainly not here. and i wont deny it, the timing of the call is eerie. i logically want to believe it was just an accidental dialing by whomever has the phone. and yeah, the whole 8 hours i drove home all i wanted was to get here and see the phone, i kinda had a tunnel vision. and to an older note you sent, yes i live in CT too… on the sound. i have mixed feelings about this place. whats your take?

September 25, 2006

RYN: um, the 1200 character notes are a feature of the non-free OD. I dunno why it isn’t standard… I guess the DM is using it as a “selling point.”