~Facing Avoidance

We went to Colorado Springs last week for a Family Emergency. Flew in Thursday Morning and was home on Sunday. Thursday after we checked into our Motel, we went to the Home of my SIL and Tribe. Then shortly later went to the Hospital… The Hospial, Memorial Medical. The last time I was there was August 28. 1996. I have avoided it ever since. It’s the Death Hospital, where Doctors who *think* they know it all really know little. I hate the place. For years I refused to drive down Boulder Street or even past it. One time about a year later a friend forgot and drove past it. I shook. It amazed me how it affected me. She said she forgot.. Thanks Friend!

As we turned into the property of the Hospital I began to Cry. I never wanted to have to return here. Although before we moved away I did force myself to drive past it. I felt I had to face what I had been avoiding. Once we got into the Hospital, I was ok. And from that time forth I was Ok. It didn’t bother me at all being there. But it always amazes me when I do come across something I still have troubles with after all these years.

It was a little hard on Brian. He walked the Hall leading to the PICU. I didn’t even remember where it was but he did.

Anyways my SIL had a Quad Bypass on Friday. She is doing alright. Should be coming home Today. I guess it isn’t the Death Hospital anymore.

Log in to write a note
June 14, 2003

PICU – Jake was there, too. I truly feel your emotions. I was a year after Jake’s accident when I returned to that hospital to see a close friend. She hugged me and understood just by looking into my eyes how hard it was for me to visit her. Hugs to you my friend. I am making a quick trip to CA next weekend for a family reunion. I am introducing my kids to their Filipino

November 24, 2004

I hate Memorial Hospital too, but it beats the military hospital. I dread just the thought of having to drive close to Ft. Carson hospital. I have very bad memories from that too.